Boschendal Wines

Boschendal Merlot Wins SA Championship!

The South African Young Wine Show dating back to 1833 – presented annually by the South African National Wine Show Association (SANWSA) – gives winemakers the opportunity to showcase the best wines of the current vintage. The eight participating wine regions are Robertson, Worcester/Breedekloof, Stellenbosch, Paarl, Oranje-Vaal, Olifants River, Swartland and Little Karoo. Individual entries from outside these regions are also encouraged. Champions are crowned in the following 17 categories: Chenin Blanc, Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Sémillon, Other White Cultivar, Dry White Blend, Sweetish Wine, Noble Late Harvest, Pinotage, Shiraz, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Other Red Cultivar, Dry Red Blend, Port, Dessert Wine and Muscadel. In addition to the 17 SA championship trophies, the impressive General Smuts Trophy – introduced in 1952 – for the overall SA Champion Young Wine, and the Pietman Hugo Trophy, for the cellar with the highest score for five best entries, are also at stake.

Of the 1 868 wines entered, 17 won SA Champion trophies, 51 achieved class winner status and 64 were awarded gold medals.

The stars of the 2016 vintage were announced during a glittering gala evening, hosted by Agri-Expo with the support of Sanlam and Santam, at the CTICC.

The SA Young Wine Show is the oldest wine show in South Africa. It dates back to 1833 when the first show was held by the Cape of Good Hope Agricultural Society (now Agri-Expo) in Gardens, Cape Town.




We use cookies – including third party cookies – to collect information about how visitors use our websites. They help us give you the best possible experience, continually improve our sites and provide you offers that are tailored to your interests. By clicking the "Accept" button you agree to the use of these cookies.